Catching up and figuring it all out…

Oh my, has it really been since December since I’ve posted?!  Wow…I really need to get my act together!  Honestly, though, I’ve been soooo busy doing so many things, I’m not surprised that blogging hasn’t quite made it to the top of the list.  In any case, I’m here now and ready to fill you all in 🙂

My holiday break went off without a hitch, except for a little bit of mouth pain here and there.  A few days before Christmas I got my wisdom teeth out and learned a few things in the process:

1. If you cry before they poke you with the needle, the surgeon will respond with “Oh boy…”
2. When you tell the nurse that the thing you most fear is that the surgeon misses the vein when trying to put in the IV, the surgeon will undoubtedly be unable to find your vein and then will say “Well, this is going to be tricky…”
3. If you go under anesthetic crying, you will wake up crying.  And if you have a sister like mine, who is kindly driving you home while you’re drugged up, you will freak her out.
4. Females are more likely to suffer from residual pain for over a week after the surgery.  Apparently your jaw muscles like to “spasm” more than the boys’.  Nice to know.

In the end, though, I survived.  Unfortunately, I don’t feel any wiser 😉

Me and the BF with Mr. Potato Head in Downtown Disney!

After Christmas, a troop of us (me, my sister, her BF, and my BF) took a road trip to Florida where we met my mom to visit my grandma, aunt, uncle, and cousin.  While we seemed to make Mother Nature angry AGAIN (the last time we were in Florida, it down poured buckets of rain for a week and this time it was one of the coldest weeks in Floridian history), it was so much fun!  We played Star Trek Scene-It, went putt-putt golfing, saw some gators, had dinner with a friend at the House of Blues, and went to (drum roll, please…) DISNEY!!  I was having withdrawals, not having been to the parks since ’07, so I was so happy to be back!  Thank you so much to my grandma’s and uncle’s friends for helping us get in (you know, if you happen to be out there in Cyber Space!)–it was such a blast!

Not 24 hours after returning from Florida, I started my second semester of senior year Round I.  Thankfully, I only have 13 credits this semester–woo hoo!  I’m pretty excited because I am an undergraduate TA for Interpersonal Communication (aka-the Relationship Class!) that I took as a student last spring.  I love the content and am pumped to be able to flex my teaching/tutoring skills by helping students in the class.  Besides that, I am taking intro journalism (my AP Stylebook is my new friend), Writing in the Public Interest (all about communication in the non-profit sector), Ecology, and Group and Organizational Communication.

My sister, Katie, my cousin, Devin and I at the Magic Kingdom!

Even though I have the fewest number of credits I’ve ever had, it seems like I have yet to find free time!  Right now, I am working between 8 and 10 hours a week both in the office and out at the Michigan State University Swine Teaching and Research Farm where my boss is conducting a feeding trial.  It’s been a long time since I’ve spent this much time in the barn!  Besides that, I have spending lots of time on homework, planning the Collegiate FFA Career Show to be held during this year’s State FFA Convention,  editing (and re-editing and editing again!) the NAMA marketing plan, and (last, but not least) trying to figure out what in the world I’m going to do for an internship!

This summer will most likely be the last year that I will be able to have a full time internship, seeing as how next summer I will be getting ready to start my student teaching experience.  That being said, I want to take this opportunity to learn as much as possible so I’m applying for several internships.  I just submitted an application for an Operations Coordinator position with Teach for America.  This would be a great chance for me to see how Teach for America works, especially since I am considering possibly applying as a corps member in the future.  I’m also putting together materials to apply for an internship with the National Junior Angus Association and the National Association of Agricultural Educators.  Cross your fingers for me that I make a good impression!

The spring is always a busy time, so I can’t guarantee that I’ll be any better at my blogging this season that I have been in the past.  However…I’ll try!

Over and out 🙂

2 responses

  1. Don’t forget AWA in DC too for summer internship. If you have any inkling in going into marketing, pr for sustainable, family farming, high welfare, this is your card

    1. I would definitely be interested in that! Have you posted the summer job description? I saw the one for the winter/spring via Twitter and on your website, but I haven’t seen the summer one yet. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

