A juggling act

So, I’ll admit it. I may have been a little crazy when I created my schedule for this semester. I signed up for 15 credit hours. Yeah, okay, that’s not that many. But, that’s not all–oh no, that is not all. I also agreed to work nearly 40 hours a week, be president of one club and secretary of another, miss two full weeks of class for two different conventions, help out with the website of another convention, do homework, meet my #ACFC10 goal of two blogs per week and attempt–and this is a very big “attempt”–to have a social life. By the time December rolls around, I’ll probably be about ready to throw my hands up and ask whatever higher power is out there to save me from this insanity I created. But you know what?

I wouldn’t change it for anything.

I don’t know everything about what my future holds for me, but I do know a few:

  1. Whether I become an ag teacher or work somewhere in the agricultural communications field, life will be busy. Even before time for a marriage and a family rolls around, I know that FFA activities, SAE visits, travelling for work, conventions and conferences, committees and organizations that I’m a part of, grading papers and more will keep me on my toes. There is never a better time to learn how to handle all of that craziness than now. It won’t kill me and it will help me get more saavy at juggling a busy life.
  2. Someday, I’m going to have to pick one job. You mean people won’t pay you a living wage at each of three different jobs to only work part time at each? Yeah, it was news to me too. Just kidding. In any case, college is one of the only times where I can have a great job working in three different locations, learning really cool and different things at all. It’s also one of the only times where I can work at this many different places and they’re all totally cool and flexible about me taking time off to better myself through travel to a convention or because I need to catch up on my school work.
  3. The only way I’m going to be prepared to work in whatever career I choose is to get as much experience as I can. Clubs, conventions or work–all of them give me the chance to experience opportunities that may not be possible once I graduate.

There are very few industries that can make people as passionate about their life as agriculture. By taking advantage of every opportunity that passes my way (no matter how crazy it can be sometimes), I’m able to continue growing that passion through experiences, meeting people and learning continually.

And yes, for all of you who are worried, I am still making sure to get enough sleep and eat good meals. I’m also working in time to spend with my friends (even though it may be limited) and I’m thankful that club participation gives me a lot of chances to mingle with them. Today, I’m even cashing in the gift card my boyfriend got me for my birthday to go get a facial and a haircut.

After that, though, it’s back to the grind. 🙂

One response

  1. I was hoping I’d get some great wisdom that would help me limit things… am sure after reading this, that if I find it, I will share it too. You are right, try lots of things you enjoy and you will find the path. In the meantime, eat well, sleep enough and enjoy the heck out of the college days. People like me wish we could go back to that sort of juggling at times but know it’s just a different hectic, not necessarily better. Take care and bend where you need to!

Leave a Reply

