Advertising – not just a reason for TiVo

Over the last three months, whenever anyone asks me where I work, I’ve been very definitive in saying, “I work for an integrated marketing agency.” While I use “integrated marketing” to make sure people know we do advertising, public relations, digital, etc., I find most people have no idea what I’m talking about. However, I’ve found other people in my office say they work for an advertising agency. Since a good chunk of our business is advertising, that’s pretty accurate. For some reason, though – even though I like the advertising we do – saying I work for an advertising agency makes me feel like I’m doing something wrong.

Maybe it’s from all my relatives who profess the joy of TiVo so they don’t have to watch the commercials. Who knows?

In any case, at the suggestion of a co-worker, I watched the documentary Art & Copy this evening. As said co-worker described, it’s a lot of creative directors, art directors and copywriters patting themselves on the back for a job well done. It’s also more than that. It was a good reminder to me that advertising, when done well and when meaningful, can have a lasting impact on society and become an embedded part of popular culture.

As a member of the account team, I’m not the one developing advertising, per say. However, I get to be a part of the process of working with both the clients and creative team to develop something special. I’m not expecting that we’ll create the next “Got Milk?” or “Where’s the beef?” campaign, but at least now I have a little more respect for the advertising work we’re doing and can approach future projects with a greater perspective on what we can achieve.

Below are some of my favorite ads mentioned in Art & Copy. What are some of your favorite advertisements or advertising campaigns?

And, because everyone loves a good “Got Milk?” commercial…

Leave a Reply

