Farm-y, Food-y Friday: Creating a multi-dimensional me

For those people who were avid readers of my blog, On the Journey, you may be wondering what on Earth I’m doing with this new, off-the-wall blog that has posts about movies and Broadway and whatever other random thing comes to the top of my head. You thought I was an agvocate, right? A farm blogger. A vocal part of agri-cult-ure. Well, I am.

But I’m also a lot more than that.

I’m a 20-something who’s living in the big city. I love, and have always loved, the performing arts. I have random thoughts that pop into my head that I want to weigh in on.

And those random thoughts aren’t always on agriculture.

That’s not to say I don’t love the business and people who produce our country’s food. I really and truly do. After all, those are the businesses and people I make a living supporting.

However, I want make sure that I’m not portraying myself as a person who only cares about one thing. And that’s why I started this blog. To give myself an outlet for both the agriculture things that I’m passionate about AND all the other things in life that I love.

I’m going to dedicate Fridays to being “Farm-y, Food-y” and all the other days will fill my innate need to just spout off randomness. I’m happier that way and I think (I hope!) my blogging will be more interesting that way.

What do you think?

6 responses

  1. If an agvocate only talks about agriculture and never gets outside of their at circles are they really agvocating? I have been enjoying your latest blog posts even if I don’t know much about broadway. Hope others take note and reach outside of our little ag niche we tend to create.

    1. Thanks for popping in and reading, Mike! Sometimes I feel like I’m not an extremely strong blogger, usually because my best posts come to me spur of the moment which makes consistent content hard. That becomes especially tough when I feel “trapped” in a only-ag agblog. When I can reach beyond ag, though, and just write about anything, it’s so much more fun and way easier to develop material. My interests are random, so I figure – why not my blog too!? Hope you’ll keep reading – who knows? You may learn something about Broadway!

  2. I love all your dimensions! SO well rounded.

    1. Thanks, Aunt Carey! I do my best 😉

  3. I did the same thing a while ago and have been jazzed by the results. It has made a big difference in how much I enjoy blogging and how much others enjoy reading. 🙂 Looking forward to the same thing here!

    1. Thanks, Janice! So far it’s working well!

Leave a Reply

